Online Press Room

"" Subscribe to the McHenry County College News Feed

Search the archives:  JAN | FEB | MAR | APR | MAY | JUN | JUL | AUG | SEP | OCT | NOV | DEC

Winners Announced in MCC's IDEA Regional Drafting Competition

[Wednesday, March 28, 2018]

Top drafting students from 10 area high schools used their mental prowess to battle for awards while demonstrating their drafting ability and problem-solving skills at the recent 2018 Illinois Design Educators Association (IDEA) Regional Competition at McHenry County College.

A total of 136 students—the most in the history of this competition—came from the following high schools: Harvard, Huntley, Johnsburg, Marengo, McHenry East, McHenry West, PR, Woodstock, Woodstock North, and Barrington H.S. Students competed in eight different categories. A $300 scholarship drawing for MCC was also awarded to John Barnhart of Prairie Ridge High School. First and second place winners qualify for state competition on April 14 at Illinois State University.

The following are top finishers in each category:

Winners of Introductory Board: John Barnhart, first place; Jacob Bainbridge, second place; and Kate Lanza, third place, all of Prairie Ridge.

Winners of Architectural Board: Alex Hildreth, Harvard, first place; and Yasmine Maxwell, Prairie Ridge, second place.

Winners of Introductory CAD: Thomas Evans, Prairie Ridge, first place; Dylan Honkala, McHenry, first place; Keaton Asbach, Prairie Ridge, second place; William Gonzalez, Barrington, second place; Cody Neihengen, third place; and Garrett Gillund, third place, both of McHenry.

Winners of Machine CAD: Jordan Vargas, first place, and Ryan Peters, second place, both of McHenry West.

Winners of 2D Architectural CAD: Nicole Fiedman, first place; and Amanda Grimes, second place, both of Prairie Ridge; and Tyler Market, Marengo, third place.

Winners of 3D Architectural CAD: Jacob Pavoris, first place; and Trevor Fuecht, second place, both of Prairie Ridge.

Winners of Assembly Modeling: Jacob Druml, McHenry West; first place; Hari Ramakrishnan, Barrington; first place; Patrick Nasta, second place; and Nathan Shutters, second place, both of Prairie Ridge; Lauren Wilcox, Huntley, third place; Owen Murk, third place; and BJ Llaneta, third place, both of Prairie Ridge.

Winners of 3D CAD Modeling: Alex Weber, Prairie Ridge, first place; James Whipple, Barrington, first place; Nathan Barnes, Woodstock North, second place; Samuel Douros, Barrington, second place; Ethan Elliot, Prairie Ridge, third place; Dean Wiersum, Johnsburg, third place; and Kyle Gresham, McHenry East & West High Schools.


Share |

Back to Top ⇑