BOARD OF TRUSTEES McHENRY COUNTY COLLEGE DISTRICT #528

Thursday, April 27, 2023 Organizational Meeting



MCC Board Room-A217 8900 U.S. Highway 14 Crystal Lake, IL 60012

MINUTES

1. CALL TO ORDER

Chair Allen called the meeting to order at 6:56pm

2. ROLL CALL

Chair Allen asked Secretary Morton to take a roll call.

Trustees Present

Suzanne Hoban
Elizabeth Speros
Molly Walsh
Dale Morton
Tom Allen
Tess Reinhard-(sworn in this evening)
Alyssa Kueffner- (sworn in this evening)

Also Present

Dr. Clinton Gabbard- College President Ken Florey – Legal Counsel

3. ACCEPTANCE OF AGENDA

Liza Smith- (sworn in this meeting)

The agenda was accepted as presented.

4. OPEN FOR RECOGNITION OF VISITORS / PUBLIC COMMENTS

There were no visitors nor public comments for the Board.

5. INSTALLATION OF STUDENT TRUSTEE

Chair Allen introduced the Board's newly elected Student Trustee, Liza Smith. Chair Allen administered the Oath of Office to Ms. Smith, then welcomed her to the MCC Board of Trustees.

6. OATH OF OFFICE FOR BOARD TRUSTEES

Chair Allen introduced the Board's newly elected Trustees, Ms. Tess Reinhard for a two-year term, Ms. Alyssa Kueffner for a six-year term, and re-elected trustee Ms. Suzanne Hoban for a six-year term. Chair Allen administered the Oath of Office to each of the trustees.

7. ELECTION OF BOARD OFFICER(S)

Chair Allen opened the floor for nominations for the position of Board Chair. Trustee Morton nominated Trustee Allen for Board Chair, Trustee Hoban seconded. No other nominations were made, and there was no discussion. The roll was called and all trustees, with the exception of Trustee Speros, voted in favor of Trustee Allen. The announcement was made that Tom Allen will serve as Board Chair for the coming year.

Chair Allen announced that the floor was open for nominations for the position of Vice Chair. Trustee Speros nominated Trustee Hoban, and Chair Allen seconded the motion. No other nominations were made, and there was no discussion. The roll was called with all voting in favor of Trustee Hoban. The announcement was made that Suzanne Hoban will serve as Board Vice Chair for the coming year.

Chair Allen announced that the floor was open for nominations for Board Secretary. Vice Chair Hoban nominated Trustee Morton and Chair Allen seconded the motion. There were no other nominations, and there was no discussion. The roll was called, and all voted in favor of Trustee Morton. The announcement was made that Dale Morton will serve as Board Secretary for the coming year.

8. RESOLUTION TO CONTINUE RULES, REGULATIONS AND POLICIES

Motion: Move that the Board of Trustees approve to continue the established rules, regulations and policies. Vice Chair Hoban Evertsen motioned; Trustee Walsh seconded. Motion approved.

9. RESOLUTION TO SET BOARD MEETING DATES AND TIMES

Motion: Move that the Board of Trustees approve the Board meeting dates, noting that meetings would start at 6:00pm and there would be no meetings held in July or December. Vice Chair Hoban motioned; Chair Allen seconded. Motion approved. Board meeting dates and times for 2023-2024 may be viewed online at www.mchenry.edu/board

10. APPOINTMENT OF TREASURER

Motion: Move that the Board of Trustees approve to appoint Mr. Robert Tenuta as Treasurer. Trustee Speros motioned; Chair Allen seconded. Motion approved.

11. APPOINTMENT OF BOARD ATTORNEY

Motion: Move that the Board of Trustees approve that Robbins Schwartz be retained as Board Attorney for one year to handle litigation, Freedom of Information Act requests, bargaining unit contract negotiations advice, issues concerning education law, and attending Board meetings and Campion Curran Law, P.C., be retained for one year to handle attending Board meetings, any local issues related to real estate, county or city issues, and routine advice not dealing with education/school law. Trustee Speros motioned; Vice Chair Hoban seconded. Motion approved.

12. APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEE STRUCTURE

Motion: Move that the Board of Trustees approve to adopt the committee structure for both the Evaluation and Policy Committee and the Finance and Audit Committee for the coming year. Vice Chair Hoban motioned; Chair Allen seconded. Motion approved. It was decided that the entire Board be on the Evaluation and Policy committee and be chaired by Trustee Morton. Trustee Allen, Trustee Walsh and Student Trustee Smith volunteered to be on the Finance and Audit Committee.

13. APPOINTMENT OF FOUNDATION LIAISON AND ALTERNATE

Trustee Morton and Trustee Arevalo volunteered to be Foundation Liaisons.

Motion: Move that the Board of Trustees appoint Trustee Morton as Foundation Liaison and that Vice Chair Hoban be appointed as alternate for the coming year. Trustee Walsh motioned; Trustee Kueffner seconded. Motion approved.

14. APPOINTMENT OF ICCTA REPRESENTATIVE AND ALTERNATE

Trustee Speros and Trustee Walsh volunteered to be ICCTA representative/alternate for the coming year.

Motion: Move that the Board of Trustees appoint Trustee Speros as the ICCTA representative, and that Trustee Walsh be appointed as alternate for the coming year. Vice Chair Hoban motioned; Trustee Morton seconded. Motion approved.

15. ADJOURNMENT Hearing no further business, Trustee Hoban motioned to adjourn, seconded by Trustee Walsh. All voiced aye and the meeting adjourned at 7:16pm.	
Denisa J. Shallo, Recording Secretary	Dale Morton, Board Secretary