Student Organizations

Organization About Us Advisor Phone (815) Email Room
Art Club To promote further education of self expression through art and to provide communal co curricular art events beneficial to the MCC community. Matt Irie 455-8552 mirie@mchenry.edu A140
Black Student Union Creates opportunities for educational and social empowerment. The Diverse Student Union represents students working together to create positive changes. Sandra Hess Moll 455-8987 smoll@mchenry.edu A244
Campus Christian Fellowship For everyone interested in the study of the Bible, prayer, peace of mind and personal growth in their walk with Jesus Christ as their Lord and Savior are welcome. Nancy Bollman 455-8598 nbollman@mchenry.edu E211
Cheshire Cheese Society, The Become involved in all aspects of literature. Read books of interest and discuss their own interpretations in an open forum. Katherine Midday 455-8735 kmidday@mchenry.edu A364
Cynthia VanSickle 479-7756 cvansickle@mchenry.edu A377
Clay Club Clay Club's purpose is to give both ceramic students and non-ceramic students the opportunity to discuss and learn the art of clay including: contemporary ceramics, ceramic art history, along with different techniques used by artists, and studio practices. Tom Vician 455-8786 tvician@mchenry.edu A144
Club Concordia Experience the different sights, sounds and cultures of various Latin American countries. Beginning, fluent and native Spanish speakers welcome. Jessica Whitcomb 455-8566 jwhitcomb@mchenry.edu A118
College Democrats To encourage students to run for office, participate in local, state and national campaigns, and be informed about Democratic values of equality, sustainability and stability. Educate students about the importance of civic engagement and participation in the political process. Inform the college community about social and political issues. Lori Keller 455-8947 lkeller@mchenry.edu C122A
Down to Earth An environmental club that is active in local issues. Our goal is to help protect our natural areas by collaborating with larger environmental interest groups of McHenry County. Ted Erksi 455-8992 terski@mchenry.edu B255
Drama Club Participate in theatrical activities including play readings, acting workshops, student showcases and theatre field trips. Audition for all productions held in the Black Box Theatre. Jay Geller 455-8746 jgeller@mchenry.edu C126
Film and Broadcast Production To gain knowledge in the film making process specifically associated with acting, directing, producing, editing, cinematography and sound work. Peter Lilly 479-7612 plilly@mchenry.edu A210
Forensics Team Emphasizes the development of communication skills that are so essential today. Students in forensics compete in a variety of oral interpretation and public speaking events. Bonnie Gabel 455-8684 bgabel@mchenry.edu C120
Future Engineering and Scientist Society (FESS) FESS exists to give pre-engineering and science students at MCC an opportunity to further their education through hands-on experience and fellowship. Steve Socol 455-8714 ssocol@mchenry.edu A228A
Hospitality Club The Hospitality Club shall be established to represent and promote awareness of the Culinary Program to the MCC student body.       A111B
Latinos Unidos Promotes Latino cultural awareness, provides ongoing support, and assistance. In addition, Latinos Unidos provides cultural, educational, social, and community awareness. Luisa Lauf 479-8918 llauf@mchenry.edu A142
Music Club Supports and further enhances the mission of the MCC music department. We sponsor the annual Second Sunday Concert Series and help to plan guest artist performances, field trips, and club fund raisers. Michael Hillstrom 479-7814 mhillstrom@mchenry.edu B258A
Paige Lush 479-7670 plush@mchenry.edu B258A
Phi Theta Kappa An International Honor Society for two-year colleges. Students must have earned a 3.5 GPA, have accumulated a minimum of 12 credit hours, be currently enrolled in 6 credit hours, and in pursuit of an associate’s degree or baccalaureate transfer program. Heidi Haegerich 455-8539 hhaegerich@mchenry.edu A228A
Diane Terlep 455-8538 dterlep@mchenry.edu B252
PRIDE Provides a safe and supportive environment for students and members of the surrounding community. We also strive to promote Equality for members of the LGBTQA (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Questioning and Allies) Community through social activism activities and education to benefit both our campus and our surrounding community. Rick Clute
479-7588

A362A
Rotaract Build community and promote responsible citizenship through service, leadership and friendship. Kathi Loser 479-7572 kloser@mchenry.edu C122
Social Sciences We strive to help students to gain a better understanding of the topics they are studying. As an organization, we promote the social sciences as a major for transferring students by giving knowledge of the careers available to them. We also promote better understanding of the human element by giving voice to issues that plague the human psyche and society at large. Sheila Venkataswamy 455-8795 svenkatasamy@mchenry.edu C122B
Teresa Bossert 455-8905 tbossert@mchenry.edu C102
Student Nursing Organization Support MCC nursing students in taking charge of their future, building relationships, developing professionally and creating the legacy of excellence for future generations of MCC student nurses. Angela Sytsma 479-7875 asytsma@mchenry.edu E211
Student Peace Action Network (SPAN) Promote peace on a local and national level through education and action. We shall be involved in our community and work for social justice and equality. Pat Gaughan 455-8686 pgaughan@mchenry.edu C116
Todd Culp 479-7724 tculp@mchenry.edu
Student Senate A recognized platform for student governance and leadership development. Student Senate works with the Student Trustee in promoting student welfare, protecting student rights, and representing the opinions of the students.   455-8772 stulife@mchenry.edu A252
Student Trustee The student member of the Board of Trustees voices student body and community opinion and reports monthly to the Board of Trustees.   455-8772 stulife@mchenry.edu A252
Students Supporting the Right to Life Members of Students Supporting the Right to Life work to save lives threatened by induced abortion, euthanasia and destruction of human embryos for research. Helen Jost 455-8914 hjost@mchenry.edu A262
Student Veterans of America Creates esprit de corps among military students and student veterans! This organization provides an opportunity for these students to come together and feel a sense of connectivity and camaraderie, as well as promote advocacy and an understanding of issues pertaining to such individuals. Don Curfman 455-8731 dcurfman@mchenry.edu A111B
Tartan, The MCC’s student newspaper provides the College community with the latest happenings, events and programs at MCC. An opportunity to experience working in the fast-paced world of journalism. Antoinette Countryman 455-8570 tcountryman@mchenry.edu A364
Twisted Threads: Textile To share and educate with students life skills and the lost art of textiles. Kathi Loser 479-7572 kloser@mchenry.edu C122A
Writers Block - Creative Writing Club To workshop students' creative writing (poetry, prose, drama) and bring creative writing to the MCC community in the form of write-a-thons, author readings, student readings, and more. Laura Power 479-7533 lpower@mchenry.edu A377
Lisa Crizer lcrizer@mchenry.edu A377

⇐ Return to list of clubs